Nitrogen Systems: Policy-oriented Integrated Research and Education


Organization / Management

Oversight and development of the program is managed by the Core Faculty group. Multiple committees have been developed to oversee specific aspects of the program. A brief description of the committee along with the chair of each committee is listed below. All CEREO faculty members are welcome to serve on the committees. Please contact the chair if interested.

NSPIRE Committees

  • NSPIRE Graduate Program Group (K. Johnson)
    Responsible for developing an NSPIRE student handbook with guidelines for the program, documents student progress and coordinates program assessment
  • NSPIRE Research Coordination Group (B. Lamb, D. Evans, B. Pan)
    Coordinates the various research topics amongst the NSPIRE students to help foster interdisciplinary interactions, identifies opportunities to develop collaborative research proposals
  • NSPIRE Internship Group (B. Budd and N. Lovrich)
    Responsible for arranging internships for each student and organizing an annual visit to Washington DC
  • NSPIRE Admissions and Recruiting Group (S. Pressley)
    Overseeing review (by the core faculty group) of NSPIRE student applications and actively recruiting new students for the program.

Core Faculty

Jennifer Adam, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, large-scale hydrologic modeling; climate change impacts on the hydrologic cycle (   Kent Keller, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, catchment studies of N contamination and nutrient cycling, vadose biogeochemistry (
Shane Brown, Engineering Education Center, conceptual change theory, student misconceptions, research-based curriculum development, social capital and academic success (   Brian Lamb, Laboratory for Atmospheric Research, CEREO Executive Committee and co-chair research committee, biosphere/atmosphere flux measurements, regional atmospheric chemistry modeling for air quality and climate change (
William Budd, Division of Governmental Studies & Services and Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice, environmental policy and planning, sustainability assessment (   Nicholas Lovrich, Dept of Political Science, Director of the Division of Governmental Studies & Services, and faculty representative to the Legislature, public administration, public policy analysis (
R. David Evans, School of Biological Sciences, CEREO Executive Committee and co-chair research committee, global change and carbon, nitrogen and water cycles, stable isotopes (   William Pan, Crop and Soil Sciences, N use efficiency and N cycling in agricultural systems (
Andrew Ford, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, CEREO Executive Committee, system dynamics modeling of energy and environmental systems as a tool to inform policy issues (   Shelley Pressley, Laboratory for Atmospheric Research, trace gas measurements, eddy covariance flux methodologies, graduate student recruiter and former IGERT-BART fellow (
no image available Kristen Johnson, Department of Animal Sciences, the interface between the environment and agricultural animals, CAFO air quality measurement and mitigation strategies (   Steven Stehr, Chair, Department of Political Science and Program in Criminal Justice, public policy analysis, community recovery from disasters (